top of page

Recent Storms In Tucson, Arizona

July 2021. The Monsoons have been very active this season! As I was watching the local weather radar I most certainly was getting excited when I seen all the yellow and red moving across the map and so close to my home. So what does a photographer with an itch for photographing something excited do? I packed up my camera and tripod and went on the road to see what I might see in person.

Let's take a look at what I ended up with in between the high winds and sudden downpours I had to avoid from my location.


After sitting in the car waiting for a part of the storm to pass overhead, I decided it was clear enough to jump out and take a few more shots before it started raining again.



Day 2 of storm chasing started off a little slow, random bolts of lightning overhead with dark clouds and little rain, but from my vantage point I was never going to catch anything exciting in frame so the adventure continued by driving a few more miles east where the radar was showing large storms. By the time I reached my destination the storms had all but disappeared from the area, again, not the greatest way to photograph the events happening overhead. Jumping back on the highway, going northwest was the most logical way direction to travel and find a vantage point away from the oncoming storms. Once I stopped at an open area off the road, I setup my camera and started taking shots. Here is what I came up with.




I was not disappointed with these local storms and enjoyed every minute I was outside with mother nature.


-Billy

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Archive

Search By Tags

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Follow Us

bottom of page